Peer edit session

I finally got around to uploading the stuff from mine and Rhiannon’s peer editing session today! It was pretty productive; I got some good feedback but unfortunately she revised my second draft and my paper has definitely gone in a different direction since. Her concerns about my paper were suggestions about including visual musical examples in discussing Geshwin’s themes, as David Schiff does in his book. Since I am taking that section out of my paper, the only way something like this might be relevant is when I am comparing excerpts/chords from Gershwin’s piece to Ellington’s; however, I don’t have sheet music for Ellington and since it was an interlibrary loan, I already had to turn in the score I had been using of Rhapsody in Blue, so unfortunately I think the time in the recordings of these comparisons will have to suffice. She also mentioned some things about the Ellington section feeling out-of-place in the grand scheme of my Gershwin paper, but since I am focusing on the Ellington-Gershwin comparison, I don’t feel this will be an issue either. Otherwise, there were a few wording issues and stuff she pointed out which was helpful, but it was mostly just encouragement that my paper is sounding good so far. Woot!

Leave a comment